reviews

[review] The Opposite of Ordinary by Jessica Sorenson

 

32294315

My review 

I really enjoyed the opposite of ordinary, I found this book on kindle unlimited and with having read a couple of Jessica Sorenson’s books in the past I decided give to it try, all I can say is Jessica Sorenson doesn’t disappoint with her books.

 Ashlynn Wynterland was very popular in school until a rumor is spread that she kissed her best friend Queeny’s crush, Ashlynn ends up getting dumped by her boyfriend, cast out by her friend and the hole school. When Ashlynn end’s up hiding in Mr Chester’s classroom at lunch she finds herself watching Maxton and his science obsessed friends as mess around with a experiment’s, being the friendless outcast has its downsides so when Maxton invites her to hang out with him and his science friends she accepts even though most of them hate her. Ashlynn has a secret crush on Maxton and the more time she spends with Maxton, the more she falls for him, but the more secrets Queeny spills to ruin her, the more Ashlynn realises she cant let the one secret that could ruin everything between her and Maxton be spilled. Ashlynn is on a mission to stop that happening and all she needs to do is find out who started the rumor about kissing her ex best friend’s crush and proving it isn’t true.

 I loved Ashlynn’s character, she funny, witty and sarcastic, she’s learning from her mistake’s and trying to be a better person.

Maxton is Ashlynn’s crush I don’t want to say much about him but damn…… he’s a nice guy, the way he befriends her and allows her into his friendship group even though they don’t all agree and hate her…..I just loved him.

You also have Maxon’s best friend and wow even though he isn’t the main character in this book I truly loved him, he’s always happy, bouncy, sarcastic and Whitty I just loved him, the banter between him and Ashlynn is hilarious I found myself laughing out loud at most points with him.

 The story is told from Ashlynn’s point of view, I found this book so easy to follow, when I first started reading this book I was instantly pulled in and couldn’t put the book down.

Jessica Sorenson wrote an amazing book, the book has lots of drama, bullying and facing up to your mistakes, she makes it easy to relate to real life in school, bullying happens a lot.

This book was such an amazing story and I would recommend it to everyone.

My rating……. 5 stars *****

heart divider

 GOODREADS BLURB

 

One day ago my life was pretty perfect. But a lot can change in a day.

In one day, I went from being Ashlynn Wynterland, one of the most popular girls in school to being the girl who spends lunchtime hiding out in Mr. Chester’s classroom and watching Maxon Harter and his science obsessed friends mess around with experiments. All because Queeny Harlington thinks I made out with her crush.

Queeny Harlington is the queen of Fareland high. And up until a day ago, she was my best friend. Now she’s my worst enemy who’s threatening to tell the entire school all of my secrets.

Being the friendless, social outcast has its downsides. So, when Maxon Harter invites me to hang out with him and his mad scientist friends, I accept his offer, even though they all seem to despise me. Which is fine. Sort of…

The truth is I’ve always thought Maxon was cute in a weirdly unordinary way. And the more I get to know him, the more I find myself crushing on him badly. Which makes me wonder if I’ve always been a weirdly unordinary kind of girl, but was too afraid to admit it.

But when Queeny decides to tell everyone my darkest secret of all, I doubt Maxon and my new friends will accept me anymore. I need to stop her, and the only way to do that may be to figure out who made up the rumor that I kissed her crush

heart dividerAUTHOR- JESSICA SORENSON

PAGES- 235

GENRE YOUNG ADULT

SERIES- THE HEARTBREAKER SOCIETY

PUBLICATION DATE- OCTOBER 16TH 2016

heart divider

Leave a Reply

